Updates & Announcements

Marikina City: Free Training Programs!

Rejoice, my fellow inhabitants of the Shoe Capital! If you’re looking for ways to add more skills and talents (plus a way to generate income  while expressing creativity of all sorts and sizes — how awesome is that!), Marikina City is offering a yearly on-going free training programs for all Marikenyo’t Marikenya!

I’ve been seeing these livelihood program ads everywhere last year and I only had a chance a day ago to visit their office at Marikina Sports Park to reconfirm IF the programs were still active. And they still are, yes! Thanks to Kuya Teng – aka Sir Demetrio – who was very accommodating and for letting me know more details of the programs. Plus a quick tour of the livelihood programs’ outputs displayed inside their office. I was so excited and I couldn’t wait to submit my application to start making my own stuff!

Just a few quick snaps because this idea of blogging about it was so impromptu, I caught myself off-guard about it! *laughs* (Okay, I’m not even sure how that works at all!)

Well, anyway!

Now called the Manpower Development and Training Office, this department offers the following Training Programs (for 120 hours each) of:

  • Bread and Pastry Production
  • Dressmaking and Tailoring – I’ll be signing up for this!
  • Food Processing
  • Greenskills Handicraft
  • Hairdressing and Beauty Care – I’m also very interested with this too!
  • * Hotel and Restaurant Management: Food & Beverage Services, Bartending, Barista, Housekeeping – as of June 2014 I was told this program is closed due to venue renovations
  • Massage Therapy and Beauty Care
  • Reflexology, Acupressure and Therapeutic Massage – something useful I’d actually consider.

And also Short Courses (for 4 hours each) as per schedule:

  • Candle Making
  • Chinese Dimsum
  • Chocolate Molding – HEY HEY HEY! Chocolaaates!
  • Urban Agri (SNAP Hyrdoponics)
  • Water Bonsai

As with all city programs here and there, requirements are needed to get into the programs. This include:

  • Must be a resident of Marikina City (and yes, a very VERY must. I inquired about outsiders but had missed to confirm whether or not they still can provided that they pay fees. I will ask again!)
  • At least 16 years old and above
  • [To be submitted a clear copy] Voter’s ID or Voter’s Verification Slip (which you can get at the COMELEC branch of Marikina located at the 3rd floor, Dry Market.)
  • 2 pcs. of 1 x 1 pictures

And if you’re a Minor and are interested to enlist, additional requirement include:

  • Voter’s ID or Voter’s Verification Slip of Parents or Guardian
  • Letter of Consent from Parents or Guardian

Inquiries and clarifications? You can call and or visit their office at:

Phone: (02) 586 – 6053
Address: 2nd Floor, Marikina Sports Park, McDonald Ave., Sto. Nino, Marikina City

Training Director: Ms. Julie Borje MDTO Staff/Livelihood Coordinators: Ms. Gina Abongan, Ms. Melijandrea Zaide, Ms. Giannina Rebadulla, Ms. Jasmin Reyes and Mr. Demetrio De Leon

Sooooo got spare time and nothing to do? Want to learn more and add more of what you can do? Looking for ways to express those artistic pursuits while earning as you go? Then sign up and submit and start learning new skills at Marikina City’s Manpower and Development and Training Office’s programs.

I’ll see you there! ☆~(ゝ。∂) And I’ll definitely blog about my after-adventures here! And, oh no, I’m not in any way affiliated with MDTO or any of its staff to be sharing this. And that is why I’m very excited to start a new thing with them!


Edited (2014 – 09 – 05):

It’s been four months since I last submitted my form to MDTO and called in a few times (a month after) in regards with my schedule and enrollment. They told me about texting me to inform me the details but I never got any as of yet. They once said about an on-going batch and that I should wait for it to finish.

So I did call them today and found out that the program I signed up for hasn’t started. I was properly filled in by Miss Iya who told me the current circumstance of the on-going advance course had only a few attendees during orientation. Should this continue the advance course would halt and the basic course will reopen for new students. So if you guys are interested in signing up for Dressmaking and Tailoring like I am, come visit their office and fill in their form!


Edited (2014 – 09 – 16):

Four days ago I received their sms notification in regards with the Dressmaking and Tailoring Classes schedule (and others like Food Processing, Hairdressing and Beauty Care and Massage Therapy) which are now up and ready for batches of students! Yesterday – Monday – there was a seminar conducted at CENTEX, City Hall (about Gender and Development plus Human Rights topics) for those who signed up for the programs too. A-must seminar for livelihood programs like these, as MDTO stated.

For those who are still interested to learn Dressmaking and Tailoring, the program is still accepting applicants!

8 thoughts on “Marikina City: Free Training Programs!

  1. Good day maam/sir hanggang ngaun po ba active pa ? Kelan po pwde mag enroll at ano mga requirements salamat po God bless

    1. Good day, Joanna.

      Yes, active pa po ang Livelihood Programs. And ung requirements po nariyan po sa pictures. 🙂 Meron din land-line in case po na gusto ninyo po sila tawagan. Salamat. 🙂

  2. Good day po. I just want to inquire kung ano po ang available schedules at kung meron pong babayaran and how much po. thank you and more power po!

    1. Hi, Cathy~

      It’s much more advisable to personally visit the MDTO office that is located at Sports Center (the side of Shoe Avenue) for schedules.

      In terms of bayarin, there’s no admission fees. The programs are for free for all Marikina City citizens.

    1. Hi, Rose Ann~

      Unfortunately the Marikina Livelihood program is only open to Marikina City-residents. I believe Cosmetology studies are available at Cubao, QC. I cannot be specific — I just saw an ad-post about it.

      Good luck!

    1. Hello, Toni~

      Sa tingin ko po ay weekdays lang po ang mga programs. At tuwing weekends ay sarado po ang government offices.

      Marahil po ay mas mainam na kontakin po ninyo sila para sa inyong mga katanungan. Good luck! ^^

Leave a Reply

